Frédéric LAURENT on exhibition

Frédéric LAURENT s'expose
After eight months of work, it’s ready at last! I’ll have twenty watercolours on display at the tattoo parlor The Tattoeed Lady in Montreuil. The main theme will be pin up girls, rods and customs. Only one problem remains : a huge case of stage fright…     Many thanks to Nab, Taz & Mylooz ...

Tractions

Tractions
Meanwhile, I was looking for a first exhibition. Some time in 2011, I was offered the opportunity to have a few watercolours displayed on the stand of the enthusiasts association “La Traction Universelle”, at the 2012 Rétromobile show… Not bad for a first time! And so I came in with three Tractions, of various years ...

Remake ?

On la refait ?
It’s really got a nice figure, the 2012 New Beetle. Food for thought…  

Wide screen

Grand écran
And so I began my first large picture… In fact, I had started it a long time ago, in 2008! Two attempts had tragically ended in the bin, and the development of the third was a long and painful process, hampered by huge personal problems, as well as by a lack of confidence. I worked ...

Size does matter

A l'étroit dans l'A4
After the Warzsawa and its Parisian street was completed, I was eager to paint landscapes around the next cars. And so I painted this DS…     Citroën DS 21 It is the close surroundings rather than a real landscape, really. But the main reason to work on this picture was, I wanted to work ...

Logos

Logos
Still trying to dress the white void behind the car. I knew my year of preliminary course in advertising school would be useful one day. Renault 4CV Simca Ariane 4

Obsessed, who, me ?

Obsessed, who, me ?
No, I’m not a complete obsessional maniac when cars are involved! Or am I? While I had a walk in Paris (see The continuous museum), ambling along the rue de la Convention, I suddenly saw this nice red car at a light, also red. Neither a Volvo P444 nor a Peugeot 203, what could it ...

The continuous museum

The continuous museum
When the weather is not as Siberian as it has been these last months, one of my favourite pastimes – if  I am not locked in my studio and paint – is to walk in Paris. I have neither route nor goal, I move forward to see this other thing that looks so interesting, there, ...

New and not so new

New and not so new
I like to paint brand new cars. Those bodyworks full of reflexions, those sparkling chromes, those spotlessly smooth surfaces. Citroën DS 19 I like to paint dog tired cars. Those tarnished paints, those twisted bumpers, those dents on the body. Citroën 2CV 6 Spécial I like to paint wrecks. Those missing parts, those rust effects, ...

Made in Japan

Made in Japan
Two small sized painting done around the same time, in 2004. I was testing other backgrounds than just the white of the paper. The 2003 Subaru is the proof that I can sometimes be interested in a modern car. I like its big round eyes, and the huge amount of reflections to reproduce (See the ...

Frédéric LAURENT s’expose

Frédéric LAURENT s'expose
Après huit mois de travail, ça y est, elle est prête ! Une vingtaine de mes aquarelles feront l’objet d’une exposition au salon de tatouage The Tattooed Lady, à Montreuil, principalement sur les thèmes des pin ups, des customs et des hot rods, pendant tout le mois d’août. Quelqu’un sait comment on fait passer le trac ? ...

Tractions

Tractions
Pendant ce temps, je cherchais une possibilité de première exposition. Courant 2011, j’eus l’opportunité de poser quelques aquarelles sur le stand du club « La Traction Universelle », pendant l’édition 2012 du salon Rétromobile… Pas mal pour une première ! Je suis donc arrivé avec trois Tractions d’années et de formats divers… Et je suis reparti avec deux ...

On la refait ?

On la refait ?
Elle est très réussie, la Coccinelle 2012. Ca fait réfléchir…

Grand écran

Grand écran
Et je me suis donc attaqué à mon premier grand format… En fait, je l’avais commencé depuis longtemps. En 2008 ! Deux premières versions étaient tragiquement parties à la poubelle en cours de route, la troisième a suivi un développement long et torturé, ralentie par de gros problèmes personnels autant que par un manque de confiance ...

A l’étroit dans l’A4

A l'étroit dans l'A4
La Warzsawa peinte avec sa rue de Paris m’a donné envie de mettre des paysages autour des voitures suivantes. Et j’ai donc peint cette DS… Citroën DS 21 Il s’agit plus ici de l’environnement immédiat que d’un vrai paysage. L’intérêt du travail sur cette image était de m’attaquer à une perspective en plongée, et sur ...

Logos

Logos
Encore des essais pour habiller le vide derrière la voiture. Je savais bien que mon année préparatoire en école de pub’ me servirait un jour. Renault 4CV Simca Ariane 4

Obsédé, moi ?

Obsédé, moi ?
Non, je ne suis pas complètement maniaque obsessionnel au sujet des voitures ! Ou bien le suis-je ? Lors d’une de mes balades dans Paris (voir Le musée permanent), alors que je descendais la rue de la Convention, je me suis trouvé nez à nez à un feu rouge avec cette jolie voiture, également rouge. Ni Volvo ...

Le musée permanent

Le musée permanent
Quand les conditions sont moins sibériennes que ces derniers mois, une de mes activités préférées, si je ne suis pas enfermé dans mon studio pour peindre, est de marcher dans Paris. Je n’ai pas de trajet ou de but, je progresse à mesure que j’aperçois quelque chose d’autre qui m’intéresse là bas, dans la rue suivante. ...

Neuf et moins neuf

Neuf et moins neuf
J’aime bien dessiner les voitures flambant neuves. Ces carrosseries pleines de reflets, ces chromes étincelants, ces surfaces impeccablement lisses. Citroën DS 19 J’aime bien dessiner les voitures un peu fatiguées. Ces peintures ternies, ces pare chocs tordus, ces bosses sur la carrosserie. Citroën 2CV 6 Spécial J’aime bien dessiner les épaves. Ces pièces manquantes, ces ...

Japonaises

Japonaises
Deux petits formats peints à peu près au même moment, en 2004. Ce sont deux essais différents pour changer un peu du fond blanc. La Subaru prouve que parfois je peux m’intéresser à une voiture moderne. J’aime bien ses gros yeux ronds, et la quantité de reflets à reproduire. (Voir la Jaguar X Type dans ...