The American friend

L'ami américain
Did I tell you I collect little toy cars? Yes, it’s somewhere in the biography, I think. Well, Majorette toy cars can lead to all kind of things… Including, thanks to the themes forum on the web, to find one’s best friends hundreds or thousands miles away, in Netherlands, in Austria, in the USA… And ...

Commissions

Commandes
The commission is a peculiar exercise. To begin a watercolour, knowing that it is already sold is sweet. But you also have to create a picture that the customer already imagines… The final confrontation between his/her expectations and what you did is a big anxiety moment. It’s also an exercise of painting for the tastes ...

The young girl, the hotrod and the double bass

La jeune fille, le hot rod et la contrebasse
When I have an idea for a visual arrangement, it always starts with discovering one of the elements, and thinking “Mmh, interesting… What if…”. And then I hunt the other pieces of the puzzle, trying to sew them together until everything fits. Here, I found the double bass first. A nice rock’n’roll instrument, lacquered and ...

Cool Britannia

Cool Britannia
I like motorbikes, but I seldom paint them, because they are harder and take more time to do than cars. But, hey, rods and customs are almost as long to create, with their motors in the open and complicated paintings. So why not add a bike? Cool Britannia This one is a Triton, a British ...

Nostalgia

Nostalgie
Apart from the pinup girls, the other obvious theme to work on for an exhibition in a tattoo parlour was rods and customs. Like the stock models (and bikes, and trucks, and planes…) my favourite customs are the vintage models. From there, the choices for these two paintings were easy.   Dirt track nostalgia (Ford ...

Girls !

Des filles !
When I talked about the themes of the paintings for the Tattooed Lady exhibition, the idea of pinup girls came quickly. Pinup girls… I’ve wanted to paint them for a long time. But it’s so much harder (in my opinion) than cars! It was the perfect occasion to try. I’ve been influenced by Gil Elvgren, ...

Baja California

Baja California
I am fond of the American cars of the early sixties. After the excesses of the “Juke box” look at the end of the previous decade, they show a nice looking come back to sobriety. There are some specialists to argue that the sixties showed an impoverishment of the American car design. I suppose they ...

Meet me at the lake

Rendez vous au lac
After the landscapes, the need for characters came quickly.  I had all I needed for this composition, the landscape and the car. But something was missing… I decided somebody was needed. This is my first watercolour with a character. We’re here at Montreux, Switzerland, on the shore of Lake Léman, location of a famous jazz ...

The day I forgot how to breathe

Le jour où j’ai oublié de respirer
Painting is in essence a solitary pleasure. To perform in public is highly unusual. My exhibitions before the first of august, 2013 were in the region of …one. And it had been without a preview. This time, there was one. My first one. The 3rd of august at 8 PM. The day began with no ...

Souvenir from Mulhouse

Souvenir de Mulhouse
A few years ago, my birthday gift from my whole family was a three days vacation in Mulhouse, Alsace. It included the train tickets, the hotel room… and a Museum pass. You have to know that the Musée Schlumpf  is located in Mulhouse. It hosts the greatest collection of vintage Bugattis in the world, and ...

L’ami américain

L'ami américain
Vous ai-je dit que je collectionnais les petites voitures ? Oui, c’est quelque part dans la biographie, je crois. Hé bien, les Majorettes mènent à tout… Y compris, par la grâce des forums spécialisés sur le web, à trouver ses meilleurs amis à des centaines, voire des milliers de kilomètres de distance, aux Pays Bas, en ...

Commandes

Commandes
La commande est un exercice particulier. S’il est agréable de commencer une aquarelle en sachant déjà qu’elle va être vendue, il faut également créer une image alors que le client a déjà une image en tête… La confrontation finale entre son attente et le résultat est un grand moment d’angoisse. C’est également un exercice imposé, ...

La jeune fille, le hot rod et la contrebasse

La jeune fille, le hot rod et la contrebasse
Quand j’ai l’idée d’une composition, tout part généralement d’un des éléments, que je découvre et qui me fait penser « Tiens, c’est intéressant, et si… ». Je vais ensuite à la recherche des autres pièces du puzzle, et j’essaye de les assembler jusqu’à ce que tout s’emboîte bien. Dans le cas présent, je suis d’abord tombé sur ...

Cool Britannia

Cool Britannia
J’aime bien les motos, mais j’en peints rarement, parce c’est beaucoup plus difficile et que ça prend plus de temps que les voitures. Mais bon, les rods et les customs sont à peu près aussi longs à réaliser, avec leurs mécaniques à l’air libre et leurs peintures compliquées. Alors pourquoi ne pas rajouter une moto ? ...

Nostalgie

Nostalgie
Avec les pin ups, l’autre thème évident à développer pour une exposition dans un salon de tatouages était celui des hot rods et des customs. Comme pour les voitures de série (et les motos, et les camions, et les avions…) mes customs préférés sont les modèles anciens. A partir de là, les choix pour ces ...

Des filles !

Des filles !
Quand j’ai commencé à discuter des thèmes de l’exposition pour The Tattooed Lady, l’idée des pin ups est arrivée rapidement. Les pin ups… Une envie que j’avais depuis longtemps. Mais c’est tellement plus difficile (à mon avis) que les voitures ! C’était l’occasion de me lancer. Mes influences me viennent de Gil Elvgren, un maître de ...

Baja California

Baja California
J’aime beaucoup les voitures américaines du début des années 60. Après les excès « juke box » de la fin de la décennie précédente, elles présentent un retour bienvenu à la sobriété. Il y a des spécialistes qui disent que les années soixante marquent un appauvrissement du style dans l’automobile américaine. Je suppose qu’ils aiment le chrome à ...

Rendez vous au lac

Rendez vous au lac
Après avoir commencé à peindre les paysages autour des voitures, est rapidement venue l’envie d’ajouter des personnages. Pour cette composition, j’avais la voiture et le paysage. Mais il manquait quelque chose…  J’ai décidé qu’il fallait quelqu’un. C’est ma première aquarelle avec personnage. Nous sommes au bord du lac Léman, à Montreux, Suisse, site d’un célèbre ...

Le jour où j’ai oublié de respirer

Le jour où j’ai oublié de respirer
La peinture est un plaisir essentiellement solitaire. Se produire en public est hautement inhabituel. Le nombre d’expositions de mes aquarelles pouvait, jusqu’au premier août 2013, être évalué à environ… une. Et il n’y avait pas eu de vernissage. Cette fois ci, il y en avait un. Mon premier. Le 3 août à 20h. Après un ...

Souvenir de Mulhouse

Souvenir de Mulhouse
Il y a quelques années, ma famille se cotisa pour m’offrir comme cadeau d’anniversaire un séjour à Mulhouse avec train et hôtel et… un passe musée. A Mulhouse se trouve le musée Schlumpf, qui abrite la plus grande collection de Bugatti du monde, et quelques centaines d’autres merveilles automobiles. C’était un TRES beau cadeau… J’en ...